Game stability.

As long time Everybody Edits players will know, the stability of the Everybody Edits backend stability has been decreasing as the game has grown. Thus the past week my work has been on fixing bugs / optimizing the backend of the game. I am proud to announce that I released the result of this work yesterday and the game has been running flawless ever since!

The only downside to this work is that the new features I had planned for this week has been pushed into next week. The upside is that we now have a much more stable game to build on.

The boring technical details.

Everybody edits was originally written as a quick test. The first version of the game was prototyped in a single day and naturally this shines trough in the code. The bad code was not an issue back when the game was a small 500 people online thing. But as the game grew small things like reprocessing the entire level every time a user joined, or using a naive data structure for storing user data resulted in the performance of the game dropping so much that it was kicking players off.

What is live now is a much optimized version of the game where the worst offending errors has been fixed.

In the future there will still be crash bugs, performance issues and so on, but every day there goes by there will be fewer.

Thanks

I feel that I owe the Everybody Edits community a big thanks. Thanks for not abounding the game because it’s unstable and thanks for being understanding when I randomly update the servers to get a quick fix live!

You guys are awesome!

Chris Benjaminsen

16 thoughts on “Game stability.

  1. Here’s a praise for you!

    Well done Chris!You are always updating EE so quickly!And fixing bugs! even know you go off track a-lot.. That’s still good because your fixing the mean bugs πŸ™‚ And your always making EE a better and better place!
    And no your awesome!

    Echo

  2. terotheon says:

    Hey Chris, I still can’t successfully change the code! I have four saved levels, but it never works 😦

    I did notice that I haven’t randomly been thrown out of levels recently, but this bug is still not fixed entirely!

  3. electriceel says:

    Chris theres one thing..
    um when i try to goto a BETA Site for EE, I try once to login with one of those non-beta accounts– NOT NONOBA!! ITS NON-BETA and um then it shows a popup like “see the new stuff before everyone else” the only thing is that im in the beta site and i clicked remember me, and so theres no X button and i cant get out
    PLZ FIX THIS PUT AN X BUTTON

  4. Hello Chris im writing to ask you to refound an account. I was not here for 3 days , when i came back my brother logged into his account, but when he logged on the system asked him to choose a name , he wrote his name but it said that its already taken. He logged with his email idk that can be a bug. All the stuff is missing, because he has bought almost all the things exept the coy smiley. Please do something to refound my brother’s acc.

    Thanks.

  5. chris,

    i donΒ΄t have paypal or mastercard or that america card
    now i cant talk and i want that sooo much !!
    now i ask you : ,, pleas can you help me”

    i ask me parent very much to get paypal or creditcard but she don’t have it

    maybe you can give me the Chat (pleeeeaas )

    I have send too a postcard ,, you have like it “??????

    me username = Guido

    PLEAAAAS

    Bye Guido

Leave a comment